Skip to content

Challenging Motivation

7 September, 2010

How do we continually challenge ourselves in today’s business climate?

Challenging myself and motivation are one and the same to me. If my job was not challenging I highly doubt I would be turning up to work with a smile on my face each morning, but I am one of the lucky ones who enjoys what I do? If someone gave me a job involving Physics or Chemistry, would it still be motivating for me? Not really. I disliked these subjects at school and what grades did I get? A grade “C”, and only just but that was because I was pushed by my parents. They don’t need to push anymore.

So why am I motivated today?

I love what I do, and my desire to learn new skills in an area where I am not so experienced drives me on. When I joined the Hurtigruten project back in September last year, I had 4 years experience with copywriting, web management and email marketing – All the skills you need to be a Content Manager at pretty much any company with a website. My goal became to be the ultimate online professional. In order to do this, I needed to learn more in SEO, learn more about online marketing, and discover new areas in the online world I had not been introduced to before.

How can we share this desire?

It’s not easy finding something you fully enjoy doing, so when you have a team of 18 how can we make everyone become motivated? I mentioned in an earlier post that I have created a development plan to introduce new skills to the team should they wish to do so. Having tasks you enjoy will help you become motivated, and the we just need them to be challenging enough for you to remain motivated for longer periods of time.

Do we set bonuses for the team, or do we meet up on a monthly basis outside of work and enjoy a dinner to thank them for their hard work? Different people have different needs to satisfy their motivation but if they are motivated by challenging work, then we should give them challenging work. Everything else (money, restaurants, vouchers) is in addition.

Money versus success

Online gambling is renowned for high salaries. SEO managers, Web Managers and Online Marketers can all expect to receive over 50,000 GBP per year in countries such as Malta, Gibraltar and the UK. At 23 years old I enjoyed the high salary and although the work during my first year was fast paced, due to a change in structure, my second year gave me little to work with. A lot of the tasks I enjoyed doing were given away and over time I was given tasks that I did not enjoy too much. For a while, the salary compensated my lack of motivation but in the end I left, as I was not developing or enjoying what I did. I then chose a job that paid 4 times less than my previous job but set goals to become a better online/web professional and so far, I am thoroughly enjoying the challenge.

Years ago, I was adamant that I would leave my job if I won the lottery (anything over 1 million euro’s), take a year or two out and just relax on a deserted island. I have grown since then and now, I am 100% sure that if I won the lottery I would continue my work. I am not the well rounded professional I desire to be, so I still have a lot of learning left.  Google Adwords for one – Adwords has been on my “to-do list” since September last year. I hope this September I can remove all the excuses I have been using to put it off and finally immerse myself in it and take (and pass) the exam. Once Adwords is out of the way, the next area will be Gerry McGovern’s Customer Carewords and website menus. Until I joined the company, I had never heard of Gerry McGovern. Now I am an avid reader of his weekly newsletter (every Sunday) and am looking forward to getting involved.

Keeping up

As humans, we are constantly learning and with all the new technology we create/ discover on a daily basis, keeping up is difficult. I guess this is where the real challenge lies but without the challenge, I wouldn’t be motivated.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Harry Smith permalink
    7 September, 2010 15:11

    When I try to describe the word ‘solipsism’, I will refer back to this blog entry. My years of experience in business and contact with all sort of people have taught me lots of things, but one thing that has rung true 99% of the time is the old phrase that “it’s the emptiest bottles that make the most noise”. This blog sounds nothing like someone who is incredibly happy in their job, more like someone who feels desperately unappreciated and hungry for attention and validation.
    And a content manager, whose skills include copywriting, would surely know that you never pluralise with apostrophes (see “euro’s”). I won’t mention the other grammatical flaws in this Narcissistic essay.
    Congratulations on feeling motivated but talk is always cheaper than action.

  2. 7 September, 2010 17:00

    Greetings Mr. Harry Smith (IP: 217.150.101.76)

    Before you post more comments, please read why this blog exists:
    https://hurtigrutenweb.wordpress.com/about/

    Your comment is what I would classify as a “Troll comment”.

    Read more about Internet Trolls here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_(Internet)

    If you’d like to read more about the results of our efforts, please read:
    https://hurtigrutenweb.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/results-and-progress-of-our-web-efforts/

    I think the results speak for themselves.

    The author of the blogpost has been a major contributor to achieving these results and if you’re really interested in our future progress, continue following this blog. The next 18 months we’ll see even better results. In the future please sign your comments with your real name and e-mail address.

  3. Einar Dehli permalink
    8 September, 2010 01:10

    Keep up the good work, Steven!

    As project manager for developing the new Hurtigruten web booking solutions, I am happy to say it has been a great pleasure working with you and your customer support team. I really appreciate your efforts and contributions. I am sure it can be challenging at times keeping people motivated and productive, when faced with so many new IT systems under constant development, in the midst of ongoing organizational changes.

  4. slmacdonald permalink*
    8 September, 2010 08:57

    Thank you for the kind words guys!

    The both of you are irreplaceable when it comes to the B2X project and if it wasn’t for your constant support, the team in Tallinn would not be where we are today. Although miles apart, we are a very tight-knit group and I look forward to the remaining challenges this year, and in 2011.

  5. Tanel V permalink
    16 September, 2010 15:27

    Steven has been a great motivator and very good at pushing homself but also pushing the team. I’m sure that if we were left to our own devices, we would have achieved only 50% of what we have achieved today.
    Stevens not a manager of any sort, he’s a leader just like KP is.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

